The Keeler Tavern was built as a residence by Benjamin Hoyt in 1713, and was converted into an inn and tavern by Hoyt’s grandson, Timothy Keeler, in 1772. The Tavern itself has a very interesting history, having been fired upon by the British during the Revolution when they learned musket balls were being made in the basement. A cannonball is still lodged into a corner post of the building, which now stands as the Keeler Tavern Museum. This daybook, reflecting one year of business at the tavern, is arranged chronologically, and includes each customer’s name, their purchases, and the price. Each customer has a corresponding number, so these entries were likely entered into a ledger for the business. Entries include not only items sold at the Tavern, but also services exchanged, and Keeler’s purchases for the Tavern. A wide variety of items are shown being sold at the Tavern, including butter, cheese, oats, sugar, tea, coffee, buttons, yards of muslin, ribbon and silk, bushels of corn, tobacco, and of course, alcohol.