Now in print

Every quarter at AAS we release a list of recent publications by those who have researched at the library as fellows, members, or readers. To see this list, as well as a list of works published from 2000-2014, please visit our recent scholarship page on the AAS website. If your book, article, or other achievement is not included, just let us know if you’d like to see it there!






March-May 2014


Barreyre, Nicolas. L’or et la liberté: Une histoire spatiale des États-Unis après la guerre de Sécession. Paris: École des hautes études en sciences sociales, 2014. (Tracy Fellow, 2011-2012)

Ben-Atar, Doron S. and Richard D. Brown. Taming Lust: Crimes against Nature in the Early Republic. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2014. (Brown: AAS-NEH Fellow, 1977-1978 and 1992-1993; AAS member)

Berkin, Carol. Wondrous Beauty: The Life and Adventures of Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte. New York: Knopf, 2014. (Daniels Fellow, 1976-1977; AAS member)

Buell, Lawrence. The Dream of the Great American Novel. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2014. (AAS member)

Calloway, Colin G. Pen and Ink Witchcraft: Treaties and Treaty Making in American Indian History. New York: Oxford University Press, 2013. (AAS member)

Davis, David Brion. The Problem of Slavery in the Age of Emancipation. New York: Knopf, 2014. (AAS member)

Dayton, Cornelia and Sharon V. Salinger. Robert Love’s Warnings: Searching for Strangers in Colonial Boston. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2014. (AAS-ASECS Fellow, 1991-1992; Mellon Fellow, 2004-2005; AAS member)

Demos, John. The Heathen School: A Story of Hope and Betrayal in the Age of the Early Republic. New York: Knopf, 2014. (Mellon Distinguished Scholar in Residence, 2011-2012; AAS member)

Garrett, Matthew. Episodic Poetics: Politics and Literary Form after the Constitution. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014. (NeMLA Fellow, 2011-2012)

Pacheco, Derek. Moral Enterprise: Literature and Education in Antebellum America. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 2013. (Packer Fellow, 2013-2014)

Wyatt-Brown, Bertram. A Warring Nation: Honor, Race, and Humiliation in America and Abroad. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2014. (AAS member)


Altschuler, Sari and Aaron M. Tobiason. “Playbill for George Lippard’s The Quaker City.” PMLA 129.2 (2014): 267-273. (Altschuler: Legacy Fellow, 2011-2012; Hench Post-Dissertation Fellow, 2013-2014)

Cohen, Patricia. “The ‘Anti-Marriage Theory’ of Thomas and Mary Gove Nichols: A Radical Critique of Monogamy in the 1850s.” Journal of the Early Republic 34.1 (2014): 1-20. (Daniels Fellow, 1977-1978; AAS-NEH Fellow, 1987-1988; Mellon Distinguished Scholar in Residence, 2001-2002; AAS member)

Coward, John M. “The Princess and the Squaw: The Construction of Native American Women in the Pictorial Press.” American Journalism 31.1 (2014): 71-99. (AHPCS Fellow, 2010-2011)

Fisher, Linford D. and Lucas Mason-Brown. “By ‘Treachery and Seduction’: Indian Baptism and Conversion in the Roger Williams Code.” William and Mary Quarterly 71.2 (2014): 175-202. (Peterson Fellow, 2007-2008; AAS-NEH Fellow, 2014-2015)

Malanson, Jeffrey. “ ‘If I Had It in His Hand-Writing I Would Burn It’: Federalists and the Authorship Controversy over George Washington’s Farewell Address, 1808-1859.” Journal of the Early Republic 34.2 (2014): 219-242. (Peterson Fellow, 2009-2010)

O’Brien. Donald. “The Engravers of Philadelphia’s Port Folio Magazine.” Printing History 15 (2014): 3-31. (AAS member)

Thompson, Catherine L. “ ‘If They Smile He Will Flourish’: Mothers, Doctors, and Nineteenth-Century Children’s Literature.” Literature and Medicine 32.1 (2014): 148-168. (Peterson Fellow, 2006-2007)


Wendy Bellion was awarded the Charles C. Eldredge Prize for Distinguished Scholarship in American Art for her book Citizen Spectator. (Last Fellow, 2011-2012; AAS member)

Ansel Elkins won the Yale Younger Poets Prize for “Blue Yodel.” (Hearst Fellow, 2012)

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers was awarded a Witter Bynner fellowship from the Library of Congress. (Baron Fellow, 2009)

Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy won the Washington Prize for his book The Men Who Lost America. (Peterson Fellow, 1986-1987; AAS member)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *