AAS Awarded a 2013 National Humanities Medal!

NEH MedalAAS is extremely humbled and honored to be a recipient of a 2013 National Humanities Medal. President Barack Obama will present the medal to Ellen S. Dunlap, AAS president, Sid Lapidus, AAS Council Chair, and William S. Reese, AAS Councilor at the White House on Monday, July 28, 2014, at 3 p.m. The citation for our award that will be read at Monday’s event says:

To the “American Antiquarian Society … for safeguarding the American story. Through more than two centuries, the Society has amassed an unparalleled collection of historic American documents, served as a research center to scholars and students alike, and connected generations of Americans to their cultural heritage.”

At Monday’s award ceremony, which will be broadcast live at www.WhiteHouse.gov/live, the President will award both the National Medal of Arts and the National Humanities Medal to a total of 20 organizations and individuals. Since its inauguration in 1997, only ten other organizations have received the medal, AAS being the first independent research library among those. A total of 40 AAS members have been recipients:

David Brion Davis
Anne Firor Scott
Edward L. Ayers
Jill Ker Conway
Natalie Zemon Davis
Robert Darnton
Andrew Delbanco
Daniel Aaron *
Bernard Bailyn
Stanley N. Katz
Gordon S. Wood
Annette Gordon-Reed
Albert H. Small
Richard Brookheiser
Harold Holzer
Rogert Hertog
Kevin Starr
Richard Gilder
Lewis Lehrman
Elizabeth Fox-Genovese
Edmund S. Morgan
Patricia M. Battin *
Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Vartan Gregorian
Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.
Garry Wills
Martin E. Marty
Paul Mellon
Doris Kearns Goodwin
Bill Moyers *
William R. Ferris
David McCullough
Dorothy Porter Wesley
John Hope Franklin
Laurel T. Ulrich
Harold K. Skramstad, Jr.
Ken Burns
John Tchen
Daniel Boorstin
Clay S. Jenkinson

(asterisks indicate resigned members)

Published by

Kayla Haveles

Outreach Coordinator, American Antiquarian Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *